Monday, 27 January 2020


As a learning Reiki practitioner and a yoga enthusiast I have become very interested in chakras. According to, "the Sanskrit word Chakra literally translates to wheel or disk. In yoga, meditation, and Ayurveda, this term refers to wheels of energy throughout the body. There are seven main chakras, which align the spine, starting from the base of the spine through to the crown of the head. To visualize a chakra in the body, imagine a swirling wheel of energy where matter and consciousness meet. This invisible healing energy, called Prana, is vital life force, which keeps us vibrant, healthy, and alive."


Muladhara (literally, “root support”) is located at the base of the spine. It is often depicted as a red four-petal lotus, and it’s connected to the earth element.

Muladhara governs what are considered the four primal urges: food, sleep, sex, and self-preservation. Its energetic function is to help us maintain a sense of groundedness and inner stability.

Root chakra affirmation: “I am connected to the earth. I am strong and I am stable.”

Yoga practices for connecting with this energy center:

- ROOT LOCK:   The root lock, or Mula Bandha, is defined by B.K.S. Iyengar as "a posture where the body from the butt to the navel is contracted and lifted up and towards the spine." It is a technique used not only in asana practice, but in pranayama and meditation as well.

- poses that strengthen the legs, feet, and pelvic floor

- the yamas and niyamas (more about the yamas and niyamas later)


Svadhisthana (literally, “her own abode”) is located at the pelvis. It is often depicted as an orange lotus with six petals, and it’s associated with the water element—fluidity, adaptability, creativity, emotions, sexual energy, and the unconscious. The second chakra’s energetic function is to help us regulate our emotions and desires, so as not to be driven by them.

Sacral chakra affirmation: “I am a creative being with unlimited potential.”

Yoga practices for connecting with this energy center:

- hip-opening poses

- forward folds


Manipura (literally, “city of jewels”) is located at the navel center. It is commonly depicted as a downward or upward-facing red triangle, and it’s associated with the fire element. Having a strong inner fire (agni) can help us digest not only our food, but also our life experiences.

Energetically, manipura’s function is to optimize our personal power so that we can navigate our lives with strength and determination. Manipura gives us the confidence we need to process and eliminate what does not serve us, and to let it go.

Navel chakra affirmation: “I am confident, powerful, and I can handle anything.”

Yoga practices for connecting with this energy center:

- core work

- twisting poses


Anahata (literally, “unstruck”) is located at the heart center. Anahata is typically depicted as a green six-pointed star surrounded by 12 lotus petals. On a spiritual level, it’s said to be the home of the higher/infinite, “unstruck” or indestructible self. Anahata is associated with the air element, and with emotional qualities such as peace, love, and openness. Energetically, anahata helps us tap into unconditional love.

Heart chakra affirmation: “Give love to receive love, and be love.”

Yoga practices for connecting with this energy center:

- chest stretches

- backbending poses

- kirtan (more about kirtan later)


Vishuddha (literally, “to purify”) is located near the base of the throat. It is often depicted as a blue downward-facing triangle inside a lotus with 16 purple petals. Vishuddha is associated with the element ether, or “space” (akasha), and with speaking one’s truth. Its energetic function is to help us find authentic self-expression.

Throat chakra affirmation: “I speak my truth. I live my truth.”

Yoga practices for connecting with this energy center:

- lion

- shoulder stand

- ujjayi breath (more about ujjayi later)

- expressive, devotional arts such as kirtan


Ajna (literally, “command center”) is located between the eyebrows. Represented by a transparent lotus with two white petals, it’s considered to be the seat of the mind, of conscious and unconscious awareness. It is not associated with any element, as this chakra is considered “beyond” the physical elements. It is held to be the center of intuition, vision, prophecy, imagination, inner knowing, and self-assurance. The energetic function of ajna chakra is to help us learn to know ourselves: emotionally, mentally, and spiritually.

Third-eye chakra affirmation: “I am open, intuitive, and self-assured.”

Yoga practices for connecting with this energy center:

- meditation

-  nadi shodhana (more about this later)


Sahasrara (literally, “thousand-petal lotus”) is located just above the crown of the head. Said to be the doorway into pure consciousness, it is often depicted as a thousand-petal lotus with a pinkish aura, and it is not associated with a physical element (as it too is considered to be beyond the elements). Sahasrara serves as a way of connecting to divine energy and is associated with our highest self. Sahasrara helps us function in a more enlightened way, cultivate self-mastery, and find a sense of connection with all.

Crown chakra affirmation: “I surrender to the wisdom of pure consciousness.”

Yoga practice for connecting with this energy center:

- meditation.

- the yamas and niyamas